U.S.-UK Business Council Executive Delegation Planning

Key Meeting Targets and Logistics

Week of January 30, 2023

10 Downing Street / Cabinet Office

  • Liam Booth-Smith, Chief of Staff to the PM
  • Eleanor Shawcross, Head of Policy Unit
  • James Nation, Deputy Head of Policy Unit
  • Tom D’Silva, Head of Business Relations
  • Alex Selway, Business Liaison
  • John Bew, Foreign Affairs Advisor

Department for International Trade

  • The Rt Hon Kemi Badenoch, Secretary of State
  • The Rt Hon Greg Hands MP, Minister of State for Trade Policy
  • Nigel Huddleston MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for International Trade
  • Crawford Falconer, Interim Permanent Secretary
  • Amanda Brooks, Director General, Trade Negotiations
  • Graham Floater – Head of negotiations with the U.S.
  • Lord Johnson, Minister for Investment

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

  • The Rt Hon Michelle Donelan, MP, Secretary of State
  • Julia Lopez MP, Minister of State for Media, Data, and Digital Infrastructure
  • Paul Scully MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Tech and the Digital Economy
  • Susannah Storey, Director-General for Digital and Media

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

  • The Rt Hon Grant Schapps MP, Secretary of State
  • Graham Stuart MP, Minister for Energy and Climate
  • Nusrat Ghani MP, Minister for Industry and Investment Security
  • Lord Callanan, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Business, Energy and Corporate Responsibility)
  • Chris Skidmore MP focused on Business and Net Zero Targets


Foreign, Development, and Commonwealth Office

  • The Rt Hon James Cleverly MP, Secretary of State
  • David Rutley MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Americas and Caribbean)
  • Harriet Mathews CMG OBE, Director General, Geopolitics and Security

Health: Department of Health and Social Care

  • The Rt Hon Steve Barclay, Secretary of State for Health and Social Care
  • Will Quince MP, Minister for Health and Secondary Care
  • Matthew Gould, CEO of NHSX

HM Treasury

  • John Glen MP, Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Andrew Griffith MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury
  • Lindsey White, Director General, International Finance
  • Philip Duffy, Director General, Growth and Productivity

Department for Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs

  • The Rt Hon Thérèse Coffee MP, Secretary of State
  • The Rt Hon Mark Spencer MP, Minister for Food, Farming and Fisheries (?)


  • British-American Parliament Group
  • Select Committee on International Trade


  • Keir Starmer, Leader of the Opposition
  • Rachel Reeves, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds, Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade
  • Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Secretary of State for Business and Industrial Strategy
  • Ed Miliband, Shadow Secretary of State of Climate Change and Net Zero

U.S. Embassy

  • Ambassador Hartley
  • Virginia Murray (State Econ Officer), Rosemary Gallant (Sr Commercial Service Officer), Brenda Van Horn (Commerce)



  • Clare Woodman, Council Chair and CEO of Morgan Stanley International
  • Global Counsel briefing with Peter Mandelson (Former UK Deputy Prime Minister and EU Trade Commissioner)
  • EU or Irish embassy to discuss Northern Ireland Protocol negotiations
  • CBI / BAB / other counterpart associations