The Business Case for 2030 Nature Compact

Event Description

B7 convenes the consultation to develop policy recommendations to the G7 governments in response to the G7 2030 Nature Compact and the UN Post-2020 Biodiversity Framework. 

The B7, International Policy Coalition for Sustainable Growth, Business at OECD and USCIB will bring together the global business community to gather business input and consensus for shaping the global dialogue on nature and biodiversity by proposing principles for transforming natural endowment into wellbeing and economic opportunities.

Supporting Partners 

  • International Policy Coalition for Sustainable Growth
  • USCIB
  • Business at OECD

Details

Monday, September 20, 2021
9:00 AM - 11:30 AM (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)

Program Organizer

B7 UK

THE BUSINESS CASE FOR 2030 NATURE COMPACT

9:00AM-11:30AM EST /15:00-17:30 CET

 

9:00AM EST/

15:00 CET      

Opening Remarks

 

Susan Shannon, Vice President Policy & Sustainability, Shell International

 

Nicola Leeds, Deputy-Chair of the G7 Senior Environment Officials Working Group under the UK's Presidency

 

9:10AM EST/

15:10 CET

Scene Setting Remarks: Nature-positive Economic Models – The Challenge to Business and Policy makers

                    

Gary Litman, Sr.Vice President, Global Initiatives, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

                    

Hanni RosenbaumExecutive Director, Business at OECD

 

 

9:20AM EST/

15:20 CET

The Business View: A Multi-Sectoral Panel Conversation with G7 Market Leaders 

 

Klaus Kunz, Global Head of Sustainability and Business Stewardship, Bayer

Candace Laing, Vice President, Sustainability and Stakeholder Relations, Nutrien, Canada 

Masa Hasegawa, Executive Director, Keidanren Committee on Nature Conservation

Anna Lidbom, Head of Sustainability, LKAB Minerals Ltd

Uday Gill, Chief Strategy Officer, Indorama Ventures Ltd, Board Member of the International Textile Manufacturers Federation (ITMF)

David Sandalow, Inaugural Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University

 

Facilitated by  Norine Kennedy, Sr. Vice President, Policy and Global Strategy, USCIB

 

10:15AM EST/

16:15 CET

Keynote Speaker: Mr. Masamichi Kono, Deputy Secretary-General of the OECD

 

Introduced by  Norine Kennedy, Sr. Vice President, Policy and Global Strategy, USCIB

 

10:30AM EST/

16:30 CET    

Biodiversity and Climate Policies: In Search Of Synergies

 

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias, The Alliance of Biodiversity International, Board Member, and fmr. Executive Secretary of   the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Eric Swanson, Senior Conservation Finance Adviser, The Paulson Institute

Kenneth Markowitz, Akin Gump, member of VERRA Board of Directors

 

Facilitated by Gary Litman, Sr. Vice President, Global Initiatives, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

 

11:15AM EST/

17:15 CET     

Conclusion and Next Steps

 

Moderated by Gary Litman and Dominik Kummerle, Business at OECD

 

11:30AM EST/

17:30 CET

Adjourn